For Canadian practices outside Quebec
SoniConnect alternatives for Canadian therapy clinics
SoniConnect alternatives for Canadian therapy clinics outside Quebec compared on this page are TherapyCRM and Portia. The table records what each vendor’s own site states about ABA session data, offline recording, family access, Ontario Autism Program content, claims, video visits, locations and pricing units, checked October 8, 2026, and when staying with SoniConnect makes sense.
TherapyCRM is made by Data Inn Inc. and is one of the products compared. This page is written by TherapyCRM. If a vendor's description is out of date, write to support@therapycrm.io and we will review it promptly.
Last checked: 2026-10-08
How to read this SoniConnect comparison
The comparison uses only each vendor’s own public pages, read on 2026-10-08. Descriptions are paraphrased. Vendors change their sites, so readers should confirm each point on the linked vendor page before deciding. The TherapyCRM row describes TherapyCRM’s own product.
The table covers public product descriptions. It does not assess privacy, security or hosting statements, a clinic’s contract, or claim routing to a particular payer; ask each vendor for its own documents on those subjects and review them with your advisers. A status of “Not stated on the pages we read” is a prompt to ask, not evidence that a feature is missing.
- SoniConnect, read 2026-10-08: the home page and the pricing, solo, clinics, enterprise, ABA data tracking, autism therapy software, progress tracking, security, about and terms pages on soniconnect.ca.
- Portia, read 2026-10-08: the home page and the pricing, data collection, FAQ, insurance billing, product features, Minnesota, practice management, clinic owners, behavior analysts, about, release notes and request demo pages on portiapro.com.
What SoniConnect states on its own pages
SoniConnect, from Soni Tek Solutions Inc., describes practice management software for autism and developmental therapy clinics, covering ABA, speech-language pathology and occupational therapy, from solo practitioners to organisations with several centres. Its pricing page has an Ontario-focused section on Ontario Autism Program funding, and its home page describes organisations with centres across Ontario.
For ABA work, its pages describe trial-by-trial recording with mastery criteria and prompt hierarchies, frequency, duration and interval data, automatic progress graphs, supervisor review before reports are finalised, and funder reports formatted for the Ontario Autism Program, school funding or private funders. A family portal shares session summaries and a photo and video gallery, and its pricing page lists video sessions, billing and invoicing and timesheets among the features on every plan.
Its pages also describe AI session-note drafts and an AI assistant for clinical questions, and its home page says clinicians review AI output before use. Its clinics page lists supervision tracking for the College of Psychologists and Behaviour Analysts of Ontario (CPBAO) among its features and mentions CPBAO audits, without describing how the tracking works.
The pages read do not state offline recording or electronic claim submission to insurers. Its billing statements concern invoices, payment reminders and year-end tax receipts for families.
SoniConnect alternatives compared
Each competitor cell reports only what its linked first-party page states. The TherapyCRM row describes TherapyCRM’s own product and limits. The row order is not a ranking. Portia is the alternative read for this page; the wider tables linked below list more vendors, read on 2026-10-03.
| Tool | ABA session data | Offline recording | Family or client access | Ontario Autism Program content | Electronic claims | Telehealth | Multi-location | Pricing unit stated | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TherapyCRM | Trial-by-trial recording, prompt levels and mastery criteria | Records offline and syncs later | Parent and guardian portal; Family app for iPhone and iPad | Funding allocations and utilisation; Ontario Autism Program reporting profile | No. TherapyCRM does not submit insurance or government claims, including OAP claims | No telehealth or video visits | Multi-location scheduling | Canadian dollars; monthly or yearly plans | Free trial |
| SoniConnect | Stated on its sitesoniconnect.ca | Not stated on the pages we readsoniconnect.ca | Stated on its sitesoniconnect.ca | Stated on its sitesoniconnect.ca | Not stated on the pages we readsoniconnect.ca | Stated on its sitesoniconnect.ca | Stated on its sitesoniconnect.ca | Stated on its sitesoniconnect.ca | Stated on its sitesoniconnect.ca |
| Portia | Stated on its sitewww.portiapro.com | Stated on its sitewww.portiapro.com | Stated on its sitewww.portiapro.com | Not stated on the pages we readwww.portiapro.com | Stated on its sitewww.portiapro.com | Not stated on the pages we readwww.portiapro.com | Stated on its sitewww.portiapro.com | Stated on its sitewww.portiapro.com | Stated on its sitewww.portiapro.com |
A status describes only the linked first-party page. “Not stated on the pages we read” does not mean a feature is absent. Confirm scope, plan and availability with the vendor. Portia’s multi-location statement appears on a Minnesota-specific page, its home page mentions Ontario’s provincial funding structures without naming the Ontario Autism Program, and its free trial is requested through a form that does not state the trial length.
Which clinic fits which tool
SoniConnect may suit a small or mid-size Ontario clinic that wants client-count pricing, a family portal, video sessions in the same product, AI-drafted session notes with clinician review and reports formatted for the Ontario Autism Program. A clinic that depends on offline recording or on electronic insurance claims should ask SoniConnect about both, because the pages read do not state them.
Portia fits an ABA-focused clinic that wants session data, scheduling, a built-in curriculum and electronic insurance claims on one platform, with a choice between a managed billing service and self-service billing. Its pages are written mostly around United States programs, with pricing in US dollars, so a Canadian clinic should ask which payers and funders it supports in practice.
TherapyCRM may fit pediatric ABA, speech and occupational therapy teams that need offline trial recording, multi-location scheduling, a parent and guardian portal, funding allocations and utilisation, and invoices from completed sessions. Physiotherapy is a supporting use. TherapyCRM does not submit insurance or government claims, including Ontario Autism Program claims, and has no telehealth or video visits. It serves practices in Canada outside Quebec, in English only. Its Family app is for iPhone and iPad. TherapyCRM is practice management software with a clinical record, not a physician EMR, and it has no EMR certification.
SoniConnect pricing and free trial terms
SoniConnect’s pricing page says the price follows the number of clients, in blocks of five, with every feature on every plan and unlimited staff accounts. It offers monthly billing or annual billing with two months free, sends organisations above 200 clients to sales, and gives a 30-day free trial with full access and no credit card. Its terms page says all prices are in Canadian dollars. This page does not copy amounts, because they change; read them on the vendor’s pricing page.
Wording elsewhere on its site differs. Its clinics page describes pricing without per-client charges, and its multi-center page describes flat-rate pricing and custom pricing for organisations with three or more locations. Ask for the terms that apply to your clinic in writing, including how a change in client count affects the next invoice.
Portia prices its software per client, which it calls a learner, per month in US dollars, with unlimited users and a learner minimum, and prices insurance billing services separately. TherapyCRM publishes monthly and yearly plans with a free trial on its pricing page. Compare the billing unit, currency, minimum and included workflows before deciding.
Ontario Autism Program funding: questions for each vendor
SoniConnect says it supports clinics and families navigating Ontario Autism Program funding, and its ABA page describes reports formatted for the program. Portia’s pages read do not name the program. TherapyCRM tracks staff-entered funding allocations and utilisation and provides an Ontario Autism Program reporting profile; it does not submit Ontario Autism Program claims or determine eligibility.
Put the same questions to every vendor, using a fictional child in the demo.
- Can staff record funding periods and amounts for each child, and does the product show the remaining balance as sessions are billed?
- Is the funder report built from the same session data, and can a supervisor review it before it is shared?
- Who submits expenses or claims to the funder or insurer, and does the product record that step?
- Which decisions stay with the clinic and the funder, and which does the software make?
Switching from SoniConnect: a demo and export checklist
Use fictional clients in every demo. Create a child with two goals, record trial data with prompt levels, try to continue the session without a connection, sync it, share a summary with a guardian, enter a funding allocation and produce an invoice. Ask each vendor for written answers on offline recording, video visits, claim submission, AI features and how clinicians review AI output, and which mobile devices the apps support.
SoniConnect’s terms page says users can export their data at any time and that data stays accessible for export for 90 days after cancellation. Before switching, ask what the export contains, in which formats, and how much history the next product can import. If direct claim submission, video visits, French use, Quebec service or a phone app beyond iPhone is required, TherapyCRM is not the right fit.
Frequently asked questions
What are the main SoniConnect alternatives for Canadian clinics?
This page compares TherapyCRM and Portia with SoniConnect, using each vendor’s own pages read on October 8, 2026. The ABA software comparison and the practice management comparison list more vendors, read on October 3, 2026. Fit depends on the clinic’s disciplines, funding and billing needs.
Does SoniConnect offer a free trial?
Its pricing page says every plan includes a 30-day free trial with full access and no credit card to start. Confirm the current terms on the linked vendor page. TherapyCRM also offers a free trial.
How does SoniConnect price its software?
Its pricing page says the price follows the client count in blocks of five, with every feature on every plan, unlimited staff accounts and a discount for annual billing. Other pages on its site use different wording, so ask for the terms that apply to your clinic in writing.
Does SoniConnect state offline recording or insurance claim submission?
The pages read state neither. A status of “Not stated on the pages we read” is a prompt to ask SoniConnect, not evidence that a feature is missing. Ask for a demonstration with the connection turned off and a written answer on claims.
Does TherapyCRM replace SoniConnect’s video sessions?
No. TherapyCRM has no telehealth or video visits, while SoniConnect’s pricing page lists video sessions among its features. A clinic that needs video inside its practice software should keep that requirement on the shortlist.
Does TherapyCRM support Ontario Autism Program records?
Yes, as clinic records. Staff enter funding allocations and review utilisation, and funder reports can use an Ontario Autism Program reporting profile. TherapyCRM does not submit Ontario Autism Program claims or determine eligibility.
Can TherapyCRM serve a clinic in Quebec or in French?
No. TherapyCRM serves English-language practices in Canada outside Quebec. It is practice management software with a clinical record, not a physician EMR, and holds no EMR certification.