For Canadian practices outside Quebec

Portia ABA software compared for Canadian clinics

Portia ABA software, also called Portia Pro, is compared here with TherapyCRM and SoniConnect for clinics in Canada outside Quebec. The table records what each vendor’s own site states about ABA session data, offline recording, family access, Ontario Autism Program content, claims, video visits, pricing units and free trials, checked October 8, 2026.

TherapyCRM is made by Data Inn Inc. and is one of the products compared. This page is written by TherapyCRM. If a vendor's description is out of date, write to support@therapycrm.io and we will review it promptly.

Last checked: 2026-10-08

How to read this Portia comparison

The comparison uses only each vendor’s own public pages, read on 2026-10-08. Descriptions are paraphrased. Vendors change their sites, so readers should confirm each point on the linked vendor page before deciding. Privacy, security and hosting statements on Portia’s and SoniConnect’s sites are not repeated or assessed here.

The table covers public product descriptions. It does not assess a clinic’s contract, security review or claim routing to a particular payer. A status of “Not stated on the pages we read” is a prompt to ask the vendor, not evidence that a feature is missing. Portia’s dollar amounts are not copied here because they change.

  • Portia, read 2026-10-08: the home page and the pricing, data collection, FAQ, insurance billing, product features, Minnesota, practice management, clinic owners, behavior analysts, about, release notes and request demo pages on portiapro.com.
  • SoniConnect, read 2026-10-08: the home page and the pricing, solo, clinics, enterprise, ABA data tracking, autism therapy software, progress tracking, security, about and terms pages on soniconnect.ca.

What Portia states on its own pages

Portia ABA software is from Portia International Inc. Its pages describe therapy-first ABA clinic software that combines data collection, scheduling, a built-in curriculum and insurance billing. The curriculum is offered in English, Spanish and French and is described as having over 1,000 programs.

For data collection, the app records targets, ABC data, notes, forms, activities and check-in and check-out times, with time-stamped entries and real-time graphs. Its FAQ says a session needs no internet connection: staff pre-load the day’s sessions on a mobile device and the app syncs when connected. Its data collection page lists the app for Apple devices and for a second mobile platform, and describes recording in a laptop browser as an alternative.

Parent access is listed among the features in the software price, without detail on what parents can see. Its pages also list scheduling rules, authorization utilization tracking, payroll reports, custom reports, an image library and optional GPS location tracking. Its about page lists speech-language pathologists and occupational therapists among its users, and its billing page says multidisciplinary clinics can process speech, occupational therapy and physiotherapy billing codes. The pages describe no dedicated speech or occupational therapy clinical tools.

The product pages read do not state telehealth or video sessions as a feature, and no page read names the Ontario Autism Program. The home page FAQ says the team has expertise in Ontario’s provincial funding structures and that the software handles billing requirements in Canadian provinces; confirm with Portia what that covers in practice. Canadian touchpoints on the site include a Canada sign-in route and French-Canadian entries in its release notes.

Portia ABA software compared with TherapyCRM and SoniConnect

Each competitor cell reports only what its linked first-party page states. The TherapyCRM row describes TherapyCRM’s own product and limits. The row order is not a ranking. The wider tables linked below list more vendors, read on 2026-10-03.

Portia ABA software compared: first-party pages read 2026-10-08
ToolABA session dataOffline recordingFamily or client accessOntario Autism Program contentElectronic claimsTelehealthPricing unit statedSpeech or OTFree trial
TherapyCRMTrial-by-trial recording, prompt levels and mastery criteriaRecords offline and syncs laterParent and guardian portal; Family app for iPhone and iPadFunding allocations and utilisation; Ontario Autism Program reporting profileNo. TherapyCRM does not submit insurance or government claims, including OAP claimsNo telehealth or video visitsCanadian dollars; monthly or yearly plansSpeech and occupational therapy; physiotherapy as a supporting useFree trial
PortiaStated on its sitewww.portiapro.comStated on its sitewww.portiapro.comStated on its sitewww.portiapro.comNot stated on the pages we readwww.portiapro.comStated on its sitewww.portiapro.comNot stated on the pages we readwww.portiapro.comStated on its sitewww.portiapro.comStated on its sitewww.portiapro.comStated on its sitewww.portiapro.com
SoniConnectStated on its sitesoniconnect.caNot stated on the pages we readsoniconnect.caStated on its sitesoniconnect.caStated on its sitesoniconnect.caNot stated on the pages we readsoniconnect.caStated on its sitesoniconnect.caStated on its sitesoniconnect.caStated on its sitesoniconnect.caStated on its sitesoniconnect.ca

A status describes only the linked first-party page. “Not stated on the pages we read” does not mean a feature is absent. Confirm scope, plan and availability with the vendor. Portia’s Speech or OT status rests on a statement about billing codes. Its home page mentions Ontario’s provincial funding structures without naming the Ontario Autism Program, and its free trial is requested through a form that does not state the trial length.

Insurance claims: where Portia and TherapyCRM differ most

Portia’s insurance billing page describes selecting rendered sessions to claim, with claims checked before submission, and two models: full-service billing by Portia’s team and self-service billing for clinics with their own billers. Its pages name United States programs, including session note templates for Tricare and Medicaid and a clearinghouse route to a Minnesota Medicaid portal. The home page FAQ says the software handles billing requirements in Canadian provinces, but the pages read name no Canadian payer and do not describe Canadian claim submission.

TherapyCRM does not submit insurance or government claims. Its manual direct billing lets staff record expected insurer amounts for each invoice line, note how a claim was submitted outside the product, such as an insurer portal, paper or a family self-claim, with a control number, and record the insurer’s explanation of benefits. A clinic that wants electronic submission should ask Portia which Canadian payers it reaches. A clinic that submits through insurer portals may find TherapyCRM’s record keeping enough, but should test it with fictional data.

Portia pricing, currency and billing services

Portia’s pricing page lists its data collection and practice management system per client, which it calls a learner, per month in US dollars on a month-to-month contract, with a learner minimum and unlimited users. The price includes the mobile app with online and offline modes, parent access, authorization utilization tracking and AI-generated session summaries that staff can edit. SMS reminders and a Box.com integration are listed as add-ons.

Insurance billing is priced separately. Full-service billing carries an implementation fee, a percentage of claims paid and an annual contract. Self-service billing carries an implementation fee, an annual fee and per-transaction fees on a month-to-month contract, with clearinghouse fees paid by the clinic.

The pages show no Canadian-dollar price, so ask Portia whether a Canadian clinic is billed in US or Canadian dollars. SoniConnect’s terms page says its prices are in Canadian dollars. TherapyCRM publishes monthly and yearly plans with a free trial on its pricing page. Compare the billing unit, currency, minimum and included workflows before deciding.

Questions for Portia before a Canadian clinic signs

Put these questions to Portia in writing, and ask the other vendors the same ones.

  • Which Canadian payers and funders does claim submission reach in practice, and which are handled outside the product?
  • Is a Canadian clinic billed in US or Canadian dollars, and how does the learner minimum apply?
  • What does Portia’s Ontario funding expertise mean for the Ontario Autism Program: reports, funding records or neither?
  • What can a parent see in the parent access feature, and on which devices?
  • How are speech and occupational therapy sessions recorded, beyond their billing codes?
  • Which parts of the managed billing service are optional, and what are the contract terms?

Which clinic fits which tool, and a demo checklist

Portia fits ABA-focused clinics that want an all-in-one platform with a built-in curriculum, offline session capture and electronic claims, particularly teams used to United States payer workflows or wanting a managed billing team. SoniConnect fits Ontario-oriented clinics that want client-count pricing, video sessions and reports formatted for the Ontario Autism Program. TherapyCRM may fit pediatric ABA, speech and occupational therapy teams that need offline trial recording, multi-location scheduling, a parent and guardian portal and funding allocations and utilisation. TherapyCRM does not submit insurance or government claims, including Ontario Autism Program claims, and has no telehealth or video visits. It serves practices in Canada outside Quebec, in English only. Its Family app is for iPhone and iPad. TherapyCRM is practice management software with a clinical record, not a physician EMR, and it has no EMR certification.

Use fictional clients in every demo. Record a trial with a prompt level without a connection and sync it, share a summary with a guardian, enter a funding allocation, generate an invoice, and ask each vendor who submits claims, what is exported, and what the billing unit, currency and minimum are. Compare the written answers with the linked first-party pages. For a clinic that needs French, Portia’s pages mention a French curriculum and French-Canadian translations in its release notes, while TherapyCRM is English only.

Frequently asked questions

What is Portia ABA software?

Portia ABA software, also called Portia Pro, is ABA clinic software from Portia International Inc. Its pages describe data collection with offline use, scheduling, a built-in curriculum, parent access and insurance billing options.

Is Portia ABA software available to Canadian clinics?

Portia’s site has a Canada sign-in route, and its home page FAQ says the software handles billing requirements in Canadian provinces. Its pricing page is in US dollars and its other pages name United States programs, so confirm payers, funders and currency with Portia.

Does Portia work offline?

Portia’s FAQ says a mobile device needs no internet connection during a session when the day’s sessions are pre-loaded, and that the app syncs when connected. Ask for a demonstration of how a missed sync is handled.

How does Portia price its software?

Its pricing page lists the software per client, which it calls a learner, per month in US dollars, with unlimited users and a learner minimum. Insurance billing services are priced separately. Confirm current terms on the linked vendor page.

Does Portia support the Ontario Autism Program?

The pages read do not name the Ontario Autism Program. Portia’s home page FAQ says its team has expertise in Ontario’s provincial funding structures. Ask Portia what that covers before relying on it.

Does Portia offer a free trial?

Portia’s pages promote a free trial and a request page for a trial and demo. The pages read do not state the trial length or limits. TherapyCRM also offers a free trial, with terms shown on its pricing page.

Does TherapyCRM submit insurance claims like Portia?

No. TherapyCRM does not submit insurance or government claims, including Ontario Autism Program claims. Staff can record manual direct billing against an insurer policy and note that a claim was submitted outside the product.

How do Portia and SoniConnect differ?

Portia is ABA-focused software with electronic claims and US-dollar per-client pricing. SoniConnect describes Ontario-oriented software with client-count pricing and video sessions. The SoniConnect alternatives page compares both with TherapyCRM.

Optional website analytics

Allow TherapyCRM and Google Analytics to measure public-page visits and actions? TherapyCRM keeps visit history for up to 90 days and may connect it to your verified inquiry. Google tags stay off in clinical, portal and checkout screens. Google may process analytics outside Canada. Details