For Canadian practices outside Quebec

Therapy clinic regulations Manitoba: what a private clinic should check

Therapy clinic regulations Manitoba: a private pediatric or multidisciplinary clinic answers to the Personal Health Information Act (PHIA), to the regulator of each clinician it employs, and to provincial child-protection, workplace and accessibility law. Breach notice to the individual and the Ombudsman has been mandatory since 1 January 2022 when a breach could create a real risk of significant harm. The regulatory map is mixed: speech-language pathology sits under the Regulated Health Professions Act, while occupational therapy, physiotherapy and psychology still have their own Acts. Every rule below links to an official page we read on 8 October 2026.

This page is information, not legal advice. Each rule links to the official source we read on 8 October 2026; confirm it there before acting.

Last checked: 2026-10-08

Manitoba at a glance

This table summarizes what we found for a private pediatric or multidisciplinary therapy clinic in Manitoba. Each cell links to the official page behind it. Rules for records, fees, advertising and supervision often differ by profession, so check each clinician’s own regulator as well.

Manitoba at a glance: rules for a private therapy clinic
TopicWhat we read
Health privacy lawPersonal Health Information Act (PHIA) and the Personal Health Information Regulation. A health professional licensed or registered under an Act, a health care facility, a public body or a health services agency that maintains personal health information is a trustee.web2.gov.mb.ca
Breach notificationMandatory since 1 January 2022. A trustee notifies the individual, and then the Ombudsman, when a breach could reasonably be expected to create a real risk of significant harm (PHIA s.19.0.1).web2.gov.mb.ca
Record retentionPHIA requires a written retention and destruction policy but the Regulation sets no minimum period. Regulators set periods: 10 years for speech-language pathology and occupational therapy, 7 years for physiotherapy.web2.gov.mb.ca
Regulators by professionSpeech-language pathology: CASLPM. Occupational therapy: COTM. Physiotherapy: CPM. Psychology: Psychological Association of Manitoba. Behaviour analysis: no regulator or protected title found on the official pages we read.
Child-abuse reportingA person with information that leads them to reasonably believe a child is or might be in need of protection must report forthwith to an agency or a parent or guardian. Failing to report carries a fine up to $50,000, up to 24 months of imprisonment, or both.web2.gov.mb.ca
Reviews and testimonialsThe CASLPM advertising standard (approved 2 May 2026) says registrants will not solicit reviews or testimonials. Rules for the other professions were not found in readable form.caslpm.ca
AccessibilityAccessibility for Manitobans Act standards apply to private organizations with one or more employees: customer service, employment, and information and communication.accessibilitymb.ca
Workplace safetySafety and health committee where at least 20 workers are regularly employed; a worker safety and health representative where five or more are regularly employed and no committee is required.web2.gov.mb.ca
Workers’ compensationBusinesses that employ workers in Manitoba register with the Workers Compensation Board; Service is a mandatory industry, and contract workers count as workers in a mandatory industry.www.wcb.mb.ca
Autism fundingNo individualized autism or ABA funding program that pays private clinics was found. The named autism services are delivered or funded by the Department of Families and St.Amant.www.gov.mb.ca

Health privacy: PHIA, trustees and breach notice

PHIA defines a trustee as a health professional, health care facility, public body or health services agency that collects or maintains personal health information. A health professional is a person licensed or registered to provide health care under an Act of the Legislature. A health services agency is an organization providing health care under an agreement with another trustee, and the facility list includes a medical clinic. The text we read does not say plainly where a private therapy clinic run by a non-clinician owner fits, or an ABA-only clinic with no regulated clinician, so ask the Ombudsman or counsel which category applies instead of assuming one. The federal Privacy Commissioner’s list of provincial laws that may apply instead of PIPEDA does not name PHIA, and we found no official answer on whether PIPEDA also applies to a fee-for-service clinic.

Breach notice is mandatory in Manitoba. A trustee that maintains personal health information must notify the individual about a privacy breach if, after weighing the factors in the Regulation, the breach could reasonably be expected to create a real risk of significant harm. Notice goes to the individual as soon as practicable after the breach becomes known, in writing and directly unless the Regulation allows indirect notice. A trustee that notifies an individual must also notify the Ombudsman at the time and in the form and manner the Ombudsman requires. PHIA gives no deadline in days. The amendment came into force on 1 January 2022.

Other duties we read:

  • Safeguards: the Regulation requires a written security policy and procedures (s.2), a decision on what information each employee or agent may access (s.5), orientation and ongoing training (s.6), and an audit of security safeguards at least every two years (s.8).
  • User activity: a trustee must keep a record of user activity for any electronic information system it uses for personal health information, audit those records to detect security breaches, and keep them at least three years (Regulation s.4).
  • Privacy officer: a health care facility and a health services agency must designate one or more employees as privacy officer (PHIA s.57). Individual health professionals are not named in that section.
  • Vendors: a written agreement with an information manager that protects the information (PHIA s.25(3)).
  • Consent: consent must relate to the purpose, be knowledgeable and voluntary, and not be obtained through misrepresentation; it may be express or implied, except that it must be express for disclosure to someone who is not a trustee (s.19.1).
  • Access: a trustee responds as promptly as the circumstances require and no later than 72 hours for care currently being provided to a person who is not a hospital in-patient, or 30 days in other cases. A reasonable fee is capped by the regulations; we did not find a fee schedule in the Regulation text we read (ss.6 and 10).
  • Retention: a written retention and destruction policy that the trustee follows (s.17). Neither PHIA nor the Regulation sets a minimum period; see the regulators table.

Professional regulators and what each one publishes

The map is mixed. Speech-language pathology is under the Regulated Health Professions Act (RHPA). Occupational therapy, physiotherapy and psychology are listed in Schedule 2 as still operating under their own profession-specific Acts, and the College of Physiotherapists says it has no timeline for moving to the RHPA. Check each clinician’s own regulator for records, fees, advertising and supervision rules.

Manitoba professional regulators for a therapy clinic
ProfessionRegulator and title ruleWhat we read for clinics
Speech-language pathologyCollege of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Manitoba (CASLPM), under the RHPA and its General Regulation.web2.gov.mb.caRecords kept at least 10 years after the last entry, and for minors at least 10 years after the minor turns 18 (General Regulation s.5.9). Liability insurance of at least $2 million for each occurrence or claim (s.3.11). Criminal record, child abuse registry and adult abuse registry checks every five years (s.2.32). Standards approved 2 May 2026 include advertising, fees and billings, and supervision; the standards page also lists informed consent and privacy standards.web2.gov.mb.ca
Occupational therapyCollege of Occupational Therapists of Manitoba (COTM), under The Occupational Therapists Act. Only an occupational therapist may hold themselves out as one (s.3).web2.gov.mb.caCOTM’s guideline on managing client information keeps records 10 years from the last entry, or for a minor until 10 years after the day the client reached or would have reached 18, whichever is later. COTM advertising, fees and insurance standards were not found in readable form.cotm.ca
PhysiotherapyCollege of Physiotherapists of Manitoba (CPM), under The Physiotherapists Act. Only a physiotherapist may use the title physiotherapist or physical therapist (s.3(2)).web2.gov.mb.caPractice direction: clinical and financial records for seven years after the last date of service, and for records made while a client was a minor until the client reaches 25. Proof of liability insurance of at least $5 million. A fee schedule that covers cancellation or late fees and refund policies. The advertising direction bars coupons, gift certificates, time-limited pricing and package deals or fee bundling, and free consultations.manitobaphysio.com
PsychologyPsychological Association of Manitoba (PAM), under The Psychologists Registration Act. Using the title psychologist, or a service description containing psychological, without registration is barred (s.11).web2.gov.mb.caRetention, insurance, advertising and fee rules for psychology were not found in readable form. The government regulators overview notes psychology can be practised without a licence as long as the reserved title is not used.gov.mb.ca
Behaviour analysisNo regulator or protected title found on the official pages we read.Behaviour analysis is not among the 31 self-regulated professions in the government overview (members counted at the end of 2025).gov.mb.ca
Assistants and techniciansSupport-personnel titles: not found on the official pages we read.CASLPM’s supervision standard: registrants do not assign clinical interpretation to support personnel, set supervisory agreements, obtain client consent to the supervisee’s services, and keep documentation and billing accurate about who did what. CPM’s supervision direction covers physiotherapist support workers: assess their skills, assign only tasks within their competence, tell clients their role and obtain informed consent.caslpm.ca

Reviews and testimonials: the CASLPM rule

The CASLPM Advertising Standard of Practice, approved on 2 May 2026, says registrants will not solicit reviews or testimonials, including social media commentary and linked resources that carry testimonials. They should take reasonable steps to remove testimonial-style comments on platforms that allow unsolicited comments. The companion FAQ says reviews from clients, relatives, friends and others cannot be used in advertising. The standard also says it supersedes any provisions set by an employer, and registrants remain responsible for advertising created by another person.

That makes this an SLP-specific rule in the sources we read. The physiotherapy advertising direction names discounts, gift certificates, package deals and free consultations but does not name testimonials in the text we read, and we did not find readable review rules for occupational therapy or psychology. Check each clinician’s own regulator for the advertising rule that applies to that profession.

Working with children: reporting, consent and record checks

Reporting is a duty of any person with information that leads them reasonably to believe a child is or might be in need of protection. The Child and Family Services Act (CFSA) says to report forthwith to an agency or to a parent or guardian of the child, with agency-only reporting in the cases s.18(1.1) lists. The duty applies despite professional duties and confidentiality, except solicitor-client privilege. In the Act a child is a person under the age of majority. The provincial reporting page lists province-wide intake and after-hours service at 1-866-345-9241, and (204) 944-4200 in Winnipeg; for an emergency call 911. The page says a reporter does not have to give a name.

PHIA section 60(1)(e) says a parent or guardian exercises the PHIA rights of a minor who does not have the capacity to make health care decisions. For consent to treatment, CASLPM’s informed consent FAQ states that the Health Care Directives Act presumes people 16 and older competent and that anyone under 16 needs a parent’s or guardian’s consent. CPM’s mature-minor document says a practitioner can find a child under 16 sufficiently mature to consent in the absence of a parent, within the child’s best interests. We read these through the regulators’ guidance and did not open the Directives Act text, so check it directly.

On separated parents, CASLPM’s FAQ says only one parent or guardian need consent, that registrants should have the parent confirm in writing that they hold the decision-making responsibility, and that if another parent or guardian asks for information about the services, the registrant must provide it. A registrant who has reason to think the consent is not sufficient may take extra steps. The comparison page shows the same questions for every province.

We found no Manitoba statute that requires a private therapy clinic to run criminal record or vulnerable sector checks. The requirements we found attach to a regulator or a funder:

  • CASLPM registrants give a satisfactory criminal record check, child abuse registry check and adult abuse registry check at registration and every five years (General Regulation ss.2.5 and 2.32).
  • Children’s disABILITY Services requires a criminal record check with a vulnerable sector search, plus child abuse registry and adult abuse registry checks, for agencies with a service purchase agreement (CDS Security Check Policy).
  • Child Abuse Registry check: an employer or other person may apply, with the person’s written consent, when the work involves the care of a child or may permit unsupervised access to a child. The initial application carries a $20 fee that is waived for some purposes.

Running the clinic as a business and employer

These items sit outside health regulation but apply to most clinics. The thresholds come from the pages linked in the sources directory.

  • Accessibility for Manitobans Act: standards apply to private organizations with one or more employees, including healthcare and professional services. Customer service has applied since 1 November 2018, employment since 1 May 2022, and information and communication since 1 May 2025. Web content must meet WCAG 2.1 Level AA when it is published after the standard applies or is needed to access goods and services, with listed exceptions. The customer service standard’s documentation duties apply only to organizations with 50 or more employees. Accessibility plans are best practice for private organizations but not required by the legislation.
  • Workplace safety and health: a safety and health committee where at least 20 workers are regularly employed (Act s.40). Where no committee is required but five or more workers are regularly employed, the employer designates a worker safety and health representative (s.41). The Regulation requires a written harassment prevention policy developed in consultation with the committee or representative (s.10.1) and a risk-of-violence assessment (s.11.2).
  • Workers’ compensation: businesses that employ workers in Manitoba register with the WCB. Service is among the mandatory industries, and in a mandatory industry everyone who works for the business, including contract workers, is considered a worker. We did not see a health care exclusion on the page. The registration deadline is not stated there.
  • Employees and contractors: the Employment Standards Code does not apply to an independent contractor (s.2(3)). The fact sheet says employees who are mistakenly classified as independent contractors are still covered, and Employment Standards enforces payment of wages. Overtime is paid at not less than 150% of the regular wage (s.17(1)).
  • Sick notes: Bill 11 limits when an employer can ask for a sick note, and it took effect on 1 October 2026.
  • Health profession corporations: Part 5 of the RHPA lets regulated members of the same profession set up a corporation with a permit; it practises only through regulated members of that one profession (s.59(2)). We found no corporation provisions in the Acts for occupational therapy, physiotherapy or psychology.
  • Sales tax: the Retail Sales Tax Act s.4(1) lists the taxable services, and health or therapy services are not on that list. That is a reading of a list, not an explicit exemption statement.
  • Business name: all partnerships must be registered, and a sole proprietor generally registers a business name unless trading under their own surname.
  • Premises: we found no health-facility or premises licence on the official pages we read.

Funding programs and insurers

Children’s disABILITY Services (CDS) serves Manitoba residents under 18 with a medical diagnosis that includes autism spectrum disorder. Its services include case management, respite, behavioural services and therapy through the Children’s Therapy Network of Manitoba, which is delivered through regional health authorities and other public partners. For preschool children, the named autism services are Autism Outreach from the Department of Families, based on DIR/Floortime, and the St.Amant Autism Early Learning Program, which uses applied behaviour analysis. The pages do not say private providers can be paid, and we found no individualized autism funding program with a provider registry like Saskatchewan’s.

Families receiving CDS funding may self-manage services such as respite and summer skills programming. The December 2025 invoicing guidelines require monthly claims no later than 10 working days after month-end and copies of invoices kept for six years. That guide describes respite and related supports, not clinic billing for therapy.

Other payers we read: the Manitoba Public Insurance Personal Injury Protection Plan covers care by physiotherapists and registered psychologists for collision injuries, and says most physiotherapists, athletic therapists and chiropractors bill MPI directly; a public provider-registration or fee page was not found. WCB Manitoba says all vendors and service providers need a WCB account to invoice, with a separate account for each location, and physiotherapists in fee-for-service clinics sign an individual services agreement. The WCB does not process invoices submitted more than 12 months after the service, and some services such as physiotherapy need pre-approval.

TherapyCRM's funding tracking is built around the Ontario Autism Program; it does not support Manitoba's Children's disABILITY Services.

Dated changes to check

We found no future-dated Manitoba change for this page, apart from the transportation standard that applies to vehicles-for-hire. The changes below are dated; check each source again before relying on it.

Manitoba dated changes
DateChange
1 January 2022PHIA mandatory breach notification in force.web2.gov.mb.ca
1 May 2022Accessible Employment Standard applies to private organizations.accessibilitymb.ca
1 May 2025Accessible Information and Communication Standard applies to private organizations, including WCAG 2.1 Level AA for web content.accessibilitymb.ca
2 May 2026CASLPM Council approves standards of practice on advertising, fees and billings, and supervision, among others.caslpm.ca
1 October 2026Sick-note limits under Bill 11 take effect.www.gov.mb.ca
1 January 2027Accessible Transportation Standard deadline for vehicles-for-hire and other transportation providers.accessibilitymb.ca

Official sources directory

Deep links we opened on 8 October 2026, one line each. Government PDFs may move; if a link fails, search the title on the same site.

Official sources

  1. [MB-1] The Personal Health Information Act. Trustees, breach notice (s.19.0.1), consent (s.19.1), privacy officer (s.57), minors (s.60); current as of 6 October 2026.
  2. [MB-2] Personal Health Information Regulation. Security policy, training, pledge, audits and user-activity records (ss.2-8); breach risk factors and notice (ss.8.7-8.9).
  3. [MB-3] Ombudsman: report a privacy breach. When trustees report to the Ombudsman, and the reporting form.
  4. [MB-4] Ombudsman: key steps in responding to privacy breaches. Practice note for trustees and public bodies (November 2025).
  5. [MB-5] Manitoba Health: PHIA. Government information and training for trustees.
  6. [MB-6] Federal list of provincial privacy laws that may apply instead of PIPEDA. Names two provinces’ private-sector laws and four provincial health Acts; PHIA is not among them.
  7. [MB-7] The Regulated Health Professions Act. Health profession corporations (Part 5) and Schedule 2, the profession-specific Acts.
  8. [MB-8] CASLPM General Regulation. Checks (ss.2.5, 2.32), insurance (s.3.11), client records (s.5.9).
  9. [MB-9] CASLPM standards of practice page. Advertising, fees and billings, informed consent, privacy and documentation, and supervision standards.
  10. [MB-10] CASLPM Advertising Standard of Practice. Approved 2 May 2026; includes the rule on soliciting reviews or testimonials.
  11. [MB-11] CASLPM advertising FAQ. Why testimonials cannot be used and how to treat unsolicited reviews.
  12. [MB-12] CASLPM Fees and Billings Practices Standard. Fee schedules, refund policies including bundled services, and invoices.
  13. [MB-13] CASLPM Supervision Standard of Practice. Support personnel, supervisory agreements and billing documentation.
  14. [MB-14] CASLPM informed consent FAQ. Minors, separated parents and requests for information.
  15. [MB-15] The Occupational Therapists Act. Representation as an occupational therapist (s.3).
  16. [MB-16] The Physiotherapists Act. Title protection (s.3(2)).
  17. [MB-17] The Psychologists Registration Act. Use of the titles psychologist and psychological associate (ss.11 and 11.1).
  18. [MB-18] Manitoba self-regulated professions overview. The 31 self-regulated professions, as of the end of 2025.
  19. [MB-19] CPM page on transitioning under the RHPA. States there is no timeline for the transition.
  20. [MB-20] CPM practice directions and policies. Index of CPM directions on records, advertising, fees, supervision and consent.
  21. [MB-21] CPM privacy and record retention direction. Seven years after last service; minors until 25; updated 17 September 2024.
  22. [MB-22] CPM advertising and marketing direction. Updated 12 June 2025.
  23. [MB-23] CPM funding, fees and billing direction. Fee schedule contents including cancellation or late fees and refund policy; updated 17 September 2024.
  24. [MB-24] CPM professional liability insurance direction. Minimum coverage for registration and renewal; updated 17 January 2024.
  25. [MB-25] CPM supervision direction. Supervising physiotherapist support workers.
  26. [MB-26] CPM mature minor companion document. Presumptions at age 16 and the mature minor doctrine.
  27. [MB-27] COTM practice guidelines. Index of COTM guidance, including the client information guideline.
  28. [MB-28] COTM guideline: managing client information. Client record retention (section 7.1).
  29. [MB-29] The Child and Family Services Act. Duty to report (s.18) and offence (s.18.3).
  30. [MB-30] Reporting child abuse and children in need of protection. Province-wide intake and after-hours number; how to report.
  31. [MB-31] Child Abuse Registry checks. Who may apply and the application fee.
  32. [MB-32] CDS security check policy. Record checks for agencies with CDS purchase agreements.
  33. [MB-33] The Workplace Safety and Health Act. Committees (s.40) and worker safety and health representatives (s.41).
  34. [MB-34] Workplace Safety and Health Regulation. Harassment prevention (s.10.1) and violence risk assessment (s.11.2).
  35. [MB-35] Accessibility Manitoba: compliance and deadlines. Affected organizations and the dates for each standard.
  36. [MB-36] Accessible Customer Service Standard Regulation. Documentation duties only for 50 or more employees (ss.11(4), 14(2)).
  37. [MB-37] Accessible Information and Communication Standard Regulation. Accessible web content (s.7).
  38. [MB-38] WCB Manitoba: register a business. Who registers and the mandatory industries.
  39. [MB-39] WCB Manitoba: create a provider account. Provider accounts and the physiotherapist services agreement.
  40. [MB-40] WCB Manitoba: invoices and fees. Invoice fields, 12-month limit and pre-approval.
  41. [MB-41] The Employment Standards Code. Independent contractors (s.2(3)) and overtime (s.17).
  42. [MB-42] Employment standards fact sheet. Independent contractors and misclassification.
  43. [MB-43] Sick notes for employee absences. Bill 11 and its effective date.
  44. [MB-44] The Retail Sales Tax Act. Taxable services list (s.4(1)).
  45. [MB-45] Companies Office: business names. Sole proprietorships and partnerships.
  46. [MB-46] Children’s disABILITY Services. Eligibility and how to apply.
  47. [MB-47] CDS services. Case management, respite, behavioural services and therapy referral.
  48. [MB-48] CDS early intervention. Autism Outreach and the St.Amant Autism Early Learning Program.
  49. [MB-49] CDS self-managed services invoicing guidelines. December 2025 claim timing and record keeping.
  50. [MB-50] Manitoba Public Insurance: covering your medical and personal expenses. Practitioners covered under the Personal Injury Protection Plan and direct billing.
  51. [MB-51] Children’s Therapy Network of Manitoba. Public therapy delivery partners.

How TherapyCRM fits

TherapyCRM is practice management software with a clinical record. It does not decide which rules apply to your clinic, and nothing on this page describes TherapyCRM as meeting any of them.

Manitoba clinicians can face different retention clocks inside one clinic: CASLPM and COTM count from the last entry and, for minors, from age 18, while CPM uses seven years and age 25. TherapyCRM stores each client’s date of birth and the dates of their appointments. Its Records and retention settings page shows a retention schedule by record class, in years after the last entry with a separate figure for minors counted from age 18, and lists records past retention. That review only reports; nothing is deleted from it, and a practice can place a legal hold on a client’s records. Check the figures against each clinician’s regulator.

PHIA section 60(1)(e) lets a parent or guardian exercise a minor’s rights when the minor lacks capacity. In the Family and consent tab of the client page, a Custody and consent card records a custody status for each guardian, shown as Custodial, Access only or No custody, and a consent ledger that notes who gave each consent and in what authority.

TherapyCRM's funding tracking is built around the Ontario Autism Program; it does not support Manitoba's Children's disABILITY Services.

Frequently asked questions

Must a Manitoba clinic notify the Ombudsman of a privacy breach?

Yes, when the breach could reasonably be expected to create a real risk of significant harm. The trustee notifies the individual as soon as practicable and must then notify the Ombudsman at the time and in the form and manner the Ombudsman requires. The requirement has been in force since 1 January 2022, and PHIA sets no deadline in days.

Is the owner of a Manitoba therapy clinic a PHIA trustee?

Each licensed or registered clinician who maintains personal health information is a trustee. The text we read does not say plainly whether a non-clinician owner is one, or whether the clinic is a health care facility or a health services agency, which affects the privacy officer duty in section 57. Ask the Ombudsman or counsel before assuming either answer.

Can a Manitoba speech-language pathology clinic ask for Google reviews?

The CASLPM advertising standard says registrants will not solicit reviews or testimonials, and it supersedes employer instructions. The sources we read did not state a review rule for physiotherapy, occupational therapy or psychology. Treat the rule as SLP-specific, and check each clinician’s regulator.

Does the Accessibility for Manitobans Act apply to a small private clinic?

The standards apply to private organizations with one or more employees. Customer service has applied since 1 November 2018, employment since 1 May 2022, and information and communication since 1 May 2025, including WCAG 2.1 Level AA for web content that is newly published or needed to access services. Accessibility plans are best practice, not required, for private organizations.

When does a Manitoba workplace need a safety and health representative?

The Workplace Safety and Health Act requires a committee where at least 20 workers are regularly employed. Where no committee is required but five or more workers are regularly employed, the employer designates a worker safety and health representative.

How long must a Manitoba clinic keep a child’s record?

PHIA requires a written retention and destruction policy but sets no minimum. CASLPM and COTM use 10 years, with minors 10 years after turning 18, while CPM uses seven years after last service and until 25 for records made as a minor. Check each clinician’s regulator, and see the retention comparison.

Who must report suspected child abuse in Manitoba?

A person whose information leads them to reasonably believe a child is or might be in need of protection must report forthwith to an agency or a parent or guardian. That includes front-desk staff and technicians. The duty applies despite confidentiality except solicitor-client privilege, and failing to report carries a fine up to $50,000, up to 24 months of imprisonment, or both.

Optional website analytics

Allow TherapyCRM and Google Analytics to measure public-page visits and actions? TherapyCRM keeps visit history for up to 90 days and may connect it to your verified inquiry. Google tags stay off in clinical, portal and checkout screens. Google may process analytics outside Canada. Details